Coe CollegeCoe CollegeCoe CollegeCoe CollegeCoe College
Coe CollegeCoe CollegeCoe CollegeCoe CollegeCoe College
Coe Athletics
Kohawk men and women finish fourth at Lamb-Kohawk
Coe News
Freshman Maddie Bain led the Coe women's cross country team to a fourth place finish.
Freshman Maddie Bain led the Coe women's cross country team to a fourth place finish.
Cross Country - Sat, Oct. 12, 2013

CEDAR RAPIDS, Iowa - Both the Coe men's and women's cross country teams finished fourth at the Lamb-Kohawk Invitational on Saturday. The men accumulated 86 points while the women totaled 96 points.

The Kohawk women were led across the line by a trio of freshmen. Maddie Bain (Kingsley, Iowa/Woodbury Central) was finished fifth overall in a time of 24:32. That time is the 25th fastest overall 6-kilometer time for a Coe runner since 2002. It is also the seventh fastest time by a Kohawk freshman in the same time period.

Fellow freshman Beth Heims (Swisher, Iowa/Prairie) also earned a top ten individual finish, finishing seventh in a time of 24:40.Heims' time is the ninth fastest time by a freshman since 2002. Katie Dietsche-Gerhart (Chicago, Ill./Jones Prep) was third across the line for the Kohawks with a time of 25:59, good for 25h place. Senior Josie Visser (Sheldon, Iowa/MOC-Floyd Valley) and freshman Katie Guinane (Grinnell, Iowa/Grinnell) finished 29th and 30th, respectively. Sophomores Erin Pisarik (Mount Vernon, Iowa/Mount Vernon) and Felicia Devine (Tucson, Ariz./Canyon Del Oro) rounded our Coe's top seven.

Cornell's Abrah Masterson won the individual title with a time of 23:20, and Cornell took the team title with 20 points.

On the men's side, freshman Austin Springsteen (Lisbon, Iowa/Lisbon) was the top Kohawk finisher, clocking a time of 27:19, good for fourth overall. Fellow freshman Daniel Paradisi (Avalon, Calif./Avalon) finished eighth overall in a time 27:50. Senior Charlie Dewar (Lake Bluff, Ill./Lake Forest) was not far behind Paradisi, clocking a time of 27:58 which was good for 11th place. Fellow senior Shea Devine (Tucson, Ariz./Canyon Del Oro) crossed the line in a time of 29:26 to finish 30th, and senior Keenan McLaughlin (Bettendorf, Iowa/Pleasant Valley) finished 33rd in 30:15. Juniors Tanner McClenahan (Keota, Iowa/Keota) and Ryan Rey (Plainfield, Ill./Central) rounded out the top seven Kohawks.

Nick Yaeger of Simpson took the individual crown with a time of 26:40. The Storm won the team title with a score of 40 points.

Both Coe teams return to action next Friday at the Dr. Tucker Invitational in Dubuque, Iowa. Start times for this event will be announced sometime this week.